November – Luna

Hiya!

Luna by Julie Anne Peters was the book chosen by Sam for November. Before I go crazy with the review we’ll keep my tradition going;

I remembered this time Liam was in tenth grade, I think, and he’d gotten a job at Jiffy Lube. It didn’t last long. He’d only done it to appease Dad, that whole macho thing. But Liam said if Dad ever asked about the gunk around his cuticles, he could always claim it was grease. Pink grease? Right, Liam. Good thing Dad never asked.

What’s the story about? It’s the story of Regan and her hidden sister Luna or Lia Marie. If you’re looking for her you can usually find her in Regan’s room. She hides there from her not all to understanding surroundings. Regan also has a make believe brother, Liam, he shows up at school, at the dinner table and lives the life that supposed to be lived and colorized by Luna. During the story you get to know the relationship between Regan, Luna and Liam & you get to find out if Luna leaves her hiding place to take her rightful place.

What did I think of the book? I have very mixed feelings about it. At one hand I think the whole story at large is a bit too dramatic. At the other hand I know that gender dysphoria is a very difficult thing to deal with, mostly because of the taboo that still exists around it. Not only the transgendered people are involved in this taboo but also the family members and friends etc. that support it. They all get judged which is hard. So I think it’s a good thing this book doesn’t only center around Luna (Liam) but also around Regan, her sister and others.

Sam didn’t really like Regan because she comes across as selfish. I don’t feel that way about her. Regan is worried that the appearance of Luna will affect her life too. I think that’s only natural. She has her own life and is growing up too ( you feel insecure most of the time). But she does want the best for her sister and just thinks that she will be happier if she stays in hiding. She can be herself at night and during the day Liam will take over. Ideally it’s the best solution, just think about it.  No one to criticize you and no worries about transitioning. For Regan this solution seems like the best choice, fear plays a big role in this point of view too I think. One of my cousins used to dress as a girl and had long hair ( hair to be jealous about). We supported him through thick and thin but we were always afraid someone would attack him, physically or mentally. We didn’t want him to be hurt. For Luna though, transitioning is inevitable.

I guess this is the right time to talk about my opinion on the matter too. First of all, I know that gender is somewhat of a certainty for most people. They identify themselves as a boy or a girl and are fine with that. This doesn’t in fact mean that they have to confirm to the existing gender roles in our society. You can identify as a boy and still have traits of what our society defines as girlish, and not be gay. Same goes for girls who have boyish traits.

So we have the boys (boys) and the girls (girls). The other ‘extreme’ are the boys (girls) and girls (boys). The boys who identify themselves as girls in such a way that they have a desire for an actual sex change, and the girls who identify as boys with the same desire. The road, the transition, to this other gender is a long one and a harsh one. Even when you have supportive surroundings. That’s why I think it’s so important to lift the taboo and let them have a chance to live the lives they want, need and deserve to live.

What’s often forgotten are the ‘colors’ in between. The people who identify as a girl one week and as a boy the next. I don’t know if it’s the right term but I call it gender fluent. I guess it’s a bit hard to understand for the people who aren’t gender fluent. You wake up feeling like one gender but it isn’t always “your” gender. It’s not that someone feels a bit boyish or girlish, they genuinely “are” a boy or girl in their head. I identify as gender fluent, that’s why I still have girls and boys clothes. My surroundings mostly go with it, just like I do. I have the advantage of being born a girl. Society doesn’t really think it’s that weird, a girl in boys clothes. A boy in girls clothes for that matter, that’s supposedly sort of a scandal ( which is outrageous).

To recapitulate this whole interesting tale; people are people. And it doesn’t really matter what they look like or how they dress. I must say that I do categorize them, like Santa, naughty or nice. If they’re nice to me, I’m nice to them. I don’t act all snob to the ones I don’t like though but please stay the hell away from me, thank you.

Final verdict: The book in general isn’t really my cup of tea but the topics discussed in the book are very interesting and need to be discussed.

smaxx pointsmaxx pointsmaxx pointsmaxxpoint-1:2

( What are these things? Find out here)

ENJOY ( & think)!

& read don’t forget to read Sam’s review over HERE! 

 

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

