Challenges, challenges & I’m back!

Hello girls and boys,

I am truly sorry. It’s been a long time. I had to take care of some things first & they’ve been taken care of, soooo … !! It’s time to come back, time for some reading and writing! I’ll be starting on my reviews of ‘the five people you meet in heaven’ and ‘love letters to the dead’ pretty soon. There is something I need to do first though. Accept a challenge! You see, I’ve been challenged by my dear friend Sam. She knows I like challenges. Here are the rules:

In a text post, list ten books that have stayed with you in some way. Don’t take but a few minutes, and don’t think too hard — they don’t have to be the “right” or “great” works, just the ones that have touched you. Tag [ten] friends, including me, so I’ll see your list. Make sure you let your friends know you’ve tagged them.

            The books are listed at random.


 

  1. The Dream Merchant by Isabel Hoving

 I don’t remember how old I was when I read this for the first time. The book came out in 2002. So I guess I was eleven going on twelve. It’s the book I’ve read the most and it fired up my imagination every single time. (The last time I read it was six/seven months ago by the way). The author of this book said she wanted the meaning of the story to change along with the readers age. She did a pretty freaking good job. Despite this, and the fact that the older me found different meanings indeed, it stayed magical. I cannot tell you how much I love this book. I will try and include a short ‘teaser’ with the other books but there is no way any teaser will cover the greatness of this one. Just read it.

  1. OH, the places you’ll go by Dr. Seuss

It’s short and lovely, uplifting and it gives me courage. Reading this book always makes me feel better.

‘Step with care and great tact and remember that life’s a great balancing act. Just never forget to be dexterous and deft. And never mix up your right foot with your left.’

  1. Naïve. Super. by Erland Loe

As many of you may have found out, growing up ain’t easy. Some of you may have found that this ‘growing up’- thing doesn’t really stop. The key for not going crazy is finding some meaning, purpose and joy in the process. This book is about just that. I read it at exactly the right time.

‘I’ve written a new list. It shows what used to excite me when I was younger. It’s quite long. (…) My existence was full of these things. It was so nice and uncomplicated. When I wasn’t sleeping I ran around and was excited. I never walked. I ran. (…) I speculate about making a list of things that excite me today. I find pen and paper, but notice that I am hesitating. I am afraid the list will be a short one. I should never have stopped running.’

  1. The universe versus Alex Woods by Gavin extence

The following sentence on the back cover made me read the book: ‘So when, aged seventeen, Alex is stopped at Dover customs with 113 grams of marijuana, an urn full of ashes on the passenger seat, and an entire nation in uproar, he’s fairly sure he’s done the right thing.’

After reading the book I was fairly sure I’ve done the right thing too. It was an amazing book and it made me want to read Kurt Vonnegut!

“When I read these books, I no longer felt like I was confined to a very tiny world. I no longer felt housebound and bedbound. Really, I told myself, I was just brainbound. And this was not such a sorry state of affairs. My brain, with a little help from other people’s brains, could take me to some pretty interesting places, and create all kinds of wonderful things. Despite its faults, my brain, I decided, was not the worst place in the world to be.”

  1. Life of pi by Yann Martel

I’m not religious but I think about religion often. This book made me think about it even more and made me explore some religions. I still don’t believe in a higher power but I truly love some of the values in each religion that I explored. The book isn’t all about praising god, although I kind of made it sound like it. I can assure you the story has a lot of beautiful aspects to it and in the end it is just about a boy finding his beliefs. There is one chapter I liked most concerning this topic. For those who want to read or re-read this book, it’s chapter 23.

“Bapu Ghandhi said, ‘All religions are true.’ I just want to love God,” I blurted out, and looked down, red in the face.

  1. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I don’t know how to describe this book or the feelings I had when I read it. It’s just beautiful and it makes me feel hurt for several reasons. One of those reasons has to do with a girl I used to know and love.

‘For you, a thousand times over’

  1. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Yes, this book has to be on my list. I read it a few times now and found that it lost some of it’s magic. It’s a beautiful book nonetheless and the insight of mister Green is amazing. Also, I caught myself identifying with August. My friends will have to be the judge of that.

‘You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have som say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers.’

  1. Going Solo by Roald Dahl

This book has left an impression because it is adventurous and real. The realness of it is sad at times, a big part is still about a boy in World War II, but the story has been written in such a way that you can’t help but feel the adventure of it first. I especially remember the part with the black mamba, which sparked a fascination for snakes and other dangerous animals.

 “I was already beginning to realize that the only way to conduct oneself in a situation where bombs rained down and bullets whizzed past, was to accept the dangers and all the consequences as calmly as possible. Fretting and sweating about it all was not going to help.”

  1. Hasse Simonsdochter by Thea Beckmann

I loved this book although I don’t remember why exactly. All I remember is that it was about a brave young girl who chooses adventure over a life full of duties. There’s fighting, danger and a tragic death involved. It’s a book that you kind of have to read when you’re a child. I mean, all of you can read any book you please at any time, please, go ahead! Just saying that this story leaves the biggest impression when you’re a kid.

10. The killer’s cousin by Nancy Werlin

I had nightmares because of this book. The creepy freaking little girl. The ways she slowly drove her cousin crazy; unbelievably gruesome. I read this book when I was fairly young and remember forbidding my little sister to read it. She was too young to even understand most of it but saw the effect it had on me and oh well, little sisters.

There is this part where the niece glued all her cousins CDs to their covers but he can’t prove it was her. Just downright psychopathic.

***** BONUS *****

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Well, what can I say? I still love the Harry Potter series. They were my safety net for a long time, a great and wonderful realm to escape to. I must confess, I had a harry potter room when I was little. Broom hanging from my ceiling, harry potter wallpaper that glowed in the dark and a self made wand on my desk. And oh, did I mention the patience my parents had when I begged to go to the midnight presales?

“Hogwarts, Hogwarts, Hoggy Warty Hogwarts,
Teach us something please,
Whether we be old and bald,
Or young with scabby knees,
Our heads could do with filling
With some interesting stuff,
For now they’re bare and full of air,
Dead flies and bits of fluff,
So teach us something worth knowing,
Bring us back what we’ve forgot,
Just do your best, we’ll do the rest,
And learn until our brains all rot…”


I don’t mind breaking rules so I won’t tag anyone in this post but feel free to accept the challenge ( I do challenge all of you)! Thank you Sammie for challenging me! I read your list and discovered I haven’t read any of the books you’ve listed. Shame on me! I will read them as quickly as possible, especially the ninth one.

Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenges, challenges & I’m back!

  1. Monica van Beek says:

    He kanjer, goed dat je weer begonnen bent. En leuk idee die smaxx coins!!!
    Mamsel xxxx

Leave a Reply

