April – Billy and Me

Hi y’all,

Last month’s book was Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher. The books tagline is ‘ Sophie May has a secret’. In contrast to Sophie, I won’t make it a secret that I didn’t really enjoy this book as much as the last ones. It’s a matter of taste I guess. So what was it about? Let me recite a bit of page twenty- seven first, as always:

‘Hmm . . . I’m not sure he’s all the ticket.’ One thing I do love about the elderly ladies in the shop and around the village is their bluntness. There’s no beating around the bush with them, they simply say whatever is on their minds. It’s a quality I’ve come to admire, even if it does mean that they regularly point out that they don’t like my new haircut, colour, or the jeans that I’m wearing. ‘ What makes you think that, Miss Brown?’ I ask, suppressing a smile. ‘He has been looking at that same page for the past hour and has been continuously muttering to himself.’ As if to clarify the lunacy of his actions, she widens her eyes and adds, ‘Talking to yourself is the first sign of madness, dear!’

So this is how the story goes; Sophie is a girl who lived a quiet life until she meets Billy. Billy is an actor and quite a famous one. He immediately falls for Sophie and turns her life around. Not always for the good though. She moves to Londen with him and feels left out. From then on things escalate. This is the main story line but besides that there’s also the passed away dad and Molly, an older lady who befriends Sophie and makes her more confident.

What did I think of the book? Well as Sam said, it isn’t really my cup of tea. The main story is basically a romance. I never liked romantic stories and this one was so dramatic in a way, I just couldn’t enjoy it.  But I found some things I liked. The relationship between Sophie and Molly is very heartwarming. I have a weakness for people who take the time to mentor the younger generation instead of pointing out the wrongs. Molly is exactly that kind of person. And I must say that the relationship between Sophie and her mother got to me. It describes the ever changing bond between a mother and daughter and explicitly brings forward the difficulty of being a mother whilst going through hardship.

My final verdict: If you like some romance, drama and a happy end, you should definitely read this book. I was very prejudiced before reading it and the book didn’t really prove me wrong. It’s an easy read though and doesn’t take up much brainpower.

smaxx pointsmaxx pointsmaxx point

( What are these things? Find out here)

Enjoy!

& don’t forget! Check out the review of SammieSam.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

