March – The curious incident of the dog in the night-time

Yes, I’m late, in fact I’m very late. But oh well, let me use a cliche here; ‘better late then never eh!’. I promise I won’t stay away for such a long time again. Pinky Promise.

Let’s get to the good stuff now, the book review! March’s book was ‘The curious incident of the dog in the night-time’ by Mark Haddon. Quite a long title and it states exactly where this book is starting, in a garden with a dead dog, at night.

Oh, by the way, before I forget. Do you remember the confetti surprise I gave Sam? She got me back real good, read about it here. Now, back to the review.

Before I tell you a bit more about the book and what I find of it, I will give you a little part of the twenty-seventh page, like I always do:

When we came in through the front door I went into the kitchen and got a carrot for Toby and I went upstairs and I shut the door of my room and I let Toby out and gave him the carrot.Then I turned my computer on and played 76 games of Minesweeper and did the Expert Version in 102 seconds, which was only 3 seconds off my best time which was 99 seconds.

Where were we, oh yeah, the dead dog. The book starts with a murdered dog. Christopher, the supposed writer of the book, likes to walk around his block at night, while doing so he finds Wellington, the dog. From then on he decides to find out who the murderer is and to write a book about it. Like a true detective. I probably should mention by now that Christopher is autistic and fifteen years three months and two days old. His search for the murderer turns out to be a big adventure, mostly because Chris has to do things he’s afraid of, like running away from home and travelling amongst strangers to London. The fact that he doesn’t really understand emotions doesn’t contribute to the ease of his quest.

What did I think of the book? First of all, it’s an easy read. The subject may be of some deeper content but the rather matter-of-factly writing style makes it very accessible. What I liked about it is that the story is told out of the perspective of Christopher. He is highly intelligent but because of his autism he’s also very childlike. He has an inquisitive look on the world but also has his fears and his difficulty to understand some things. The book to me is an example of overcoming fears and of the importance of truth, and that standing opposed to these subjects age doesn’t really matter.

My final verdict: It’s not the first book I’ll re-read but it’s one worth reading nontheless.

smaxx pointsmaxx pointsmaxx pointsmaxxpoint-1:2

( What are these things? Find out here)

Enjoy!!

P.s. don’t forget to check out the review (posted a while earlier) of Sammie!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

