January – The realm of possibility

The first month of the smaxx project has come to an end (February has started though, check it out Here)! This means a short personal review of the book, here we go:

The tagline of the book, ‘One school. Twenty voices. Endless possibilities.’, is a pretty accurate one. I tried to illustrate the different voices and possibilities in a ‘chart’ but as you can see it turned out to be a little chaotic. Still, it kinda illustrates the tagline.

ImageSo, what did I think of the book? Well, the book actually consists of several stories. Each story is written by a student at this one school. What I liked most is that David Levithan didn’t seem like the author of those stories anymore. It really felt like you were attending the school yourself and slowly got to meet your fellow students. This feeling wasn’t only caused by the content of the stories but also by the way they were told / the style of the writings. Take Pete for example. He’s seems like a typical jock and in a way he is. He wrote down his story in a very factual way, like I expected from a jock. But through the content of the story we get to meet the real Pete, a very thoughtfull and caring boy:

 Maybe this is what happens when life is no longer about bodies. You find yourself in your own body, and no matter how strong it is, it is separate. It contains its own space. It must find its own way.

And maybe it is only by finding yourself separate that you can feel the true intensity of becoming close to another person. I am trying to understand this, and I am trying to understand this with her.

The book is about friendship & love, sometimes unrequited. It’s about envy and resentment, about loneliness & growing up. It’s about standing up for others and your own values. It’s about making the impossible possible, in Jed’s words:

Here’s what I know about the realm of possibility – it is always expanding, it is never what you think it is. Everything around us was once deemed impossible. From the airplane overhead to the phones in our pockets to the choir girl putting her arm around the metalhead. As hard as it is for us to see sometimes, we all exist within the realm of possibility. Most of the limits are of our own world’s devising. And yet, every day we each do so many things that were once impossible to us.

My final verdict: I fell in love the book and each of the characters. Some stories I liked better than others but I could relate to every single one of them. Not because I lived all the situations described but because I lived through high school and am, like the characters, still growing up.

If you decide to read it too; enjoy!

smaxx pointsmaxx pointsmaxx pointsmaxx pointsmaxxpoint-1:2

( What are these things? Find out here)

p.s. Don’t forget to read my friend Sam‘s review! You can find it by clicking her name! & this is for you Sam:

Singular.

I only had one priority, then

Now I don’t count them

I call my friends instead, talk about stupid fun things

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

